Found on business.pinterest.com

Found on business.pinterest.com

Now, I’m going to take some time to talk about other social networking sites that authors can tap to get their books out to readers. The first one is Pinterest. Compared to Facebook and Twitter, it is not as popular, but it is nothing to sneeze at with 70 million users. You’re probably thinking that Pinterest is only for crafts, recipes, and fashion, but you would be wrong. There is an amazing amount of material on Pinterest that is book-related. If you haven’t yet, check out Random House’s pinboards about books. They have 50 boards and almost a million and a half followers. Do you think they sell books with their pins? I’m going to say yes. There’s also Pinterest for Business where businesses can set up an account. I would take advantage of this website because it’s very helpful for anyone trying to market themselves as a writer. And as a writer, you have to be your best marketer because no one else is going to do it for you unless you are a bestselling author. Always take pictures of whatever you do and use software to turn it into a pin. Be creative and help others out and you should see a huge return on your time in the form of book sales.

Found on play.google.com.

Found on play.google.com.

The next website I will talk about is LinkedIn. Why should I use LinkedIn, you ask? The answer is because 300 million people use it. Business in the past has always been about the network. Network, network, network, the career experts say. You, as a writer, are a one-person business. It is essential for you to have a profile on LinkedIn. Here, you won’t find as many readers as the other social networking sites, but it will allow you to join groups and present a professional image to the world. You will be able to say to readers, “I’m in it for the long run. I want to sell books, and I’m committed to that goal.”
Of course there are other social networks that I will not cover on this blog, but I encourage you to research those on your own and find some way to tap the potential readers you will find. If you are consistently connecting with people, they will connect with you and buy your books.

I will discuss one more social networking that is specific to books called goodreads.com. I’m sure you have heard of it if you are an avid reader. I always recommend any authors I know to start a profile on here. They have an amazing promotion program where the more work you put into it, the more readers you will have. You can publicize upcoming events such as book signings and speaking engagements, share book excerpts, add a bio, advertise your book, and list a book giveaway. Since this is specific to books, I highly recommend it for authors. It allows you to take control of your book marketing on a site where people are looking for books. How awesome is this?
I hope you are able to take advantage of all of the sites I have mentioned so far. Social networking sites are a huge opportunity to generate readers and authors would be stupid to bypass the power behind these sites.

