Found on about.twitter.com.

Found on about.twitter.com.

If you guessed that I was going to talk about Twitter next, you are right. Twitter now has 284 million monthly active users with 500 million Tweets sent per day. Wow! If you could have an audience of 284 million people, would you take that opportunity? I would! Of course your audience would be limited to English speakers, but it would still be an enormous audience.

A lot of people view Twitter as a huge time suck, and it can be if you are not careful. But it also can be a valuable resource to help you network with readers and those who can help you such as agents, publishers, and other writers. If you give valuable content to those in your social network and are willing to help out others, you will be surprised by what happens.

Communities of writers and readers can easily find each other on Twitter. With social media, writers are no longer solitary creatures who spend hours and hours in an empty room, typing on a keyboard and hoping someone will actually read what they write. Now Twitter has given us an easy way to connect with readers. Here are just some of the many hashtags you could use: #AmReading, #BookGiveaway, #Books, #BookReview, #FreeBook, and #eBook. Believe me that this is a short list when it comes to possible hashtags. The possibilities are endless. Give something of value to your readers on social sites, and they will reward you by becoming fans and connecting with you.

Also, in my digital promotions class, we learned about promoted accounts and promoted Tweets. This would be a part of native advertising, which is something that is so cohesive with the design and content of the site that it doesn’t look like an advertisement, but just looks like it belongs. This could be a powerful mechanism to use if you would like to promote your books or content. Simply pay for your posts to show up in others’ feeds who don’t currently follow you. They could be interested in the information and click and decide to buy your book. This has worked for me when there’s a promoted account in Facebook. Recently, I signed up to attend a webinar because it showed up in my feed in Facebook.

Let me give you a few examples of what I have done on Twitter. My goal after graduating is to work in communications or book publishing. My dream job is to be an editor in a book publishing company. So, I have followed all of the publishing houses or book-related accounts that I could find on Twitter. Some of these accounts have followed me back. I also have followed authors. I’m not active right now because I am so busy with school, but I have posted book-related content on Twitter and used book-related hashtags. I find more followers this way because people know I am contributing valuable content to the site. I plan to use this network when I start looking for book jobs to find freelance editing work and a position as an editor.

So, if you’re not on Twitter, what’s the holdup?

