Tags

, ,

As this is my first post, let me introduce myself to my audience. My name is Emily Wenzl, and this blog will serve as proof that I know a little bit about digital promotion in the world of books. The blog is for a class I am taking at Colorado State University, but I hope that potential employers can read this and understand my passion for the literary world and what I can bring to your company through my digital promotion skills. With that out of the way, let’s get started.

Found on en.wikipedia.org

The most basic thing that one needs to market a book is an outstanding book cover. Take a look at the books to your left. Do you think they would get much attention if featured online? Probably not. I know this is not a problem with traditional book publishers that have their authors’ book covers professionally designed. But it can be a problem with self-published authors. If you want to sell a book in a store, the cover has to make it stand out. People really do judge a book by its cover. I’m guilty of that too. Whenever I go into a bookstore or online store, I quickly disregard anything that doesn’t catch my eye. A cover needs to grab a reader’s attention, entice them to learn more, or create enough interest for a click. I’ve seen hundreds of unprofessional titles, and I’ve never bought one of them. For self-published authors, this is especially important and is something you need to splurge on to get an attractive cover that screams awesome! If the cover screams “self-published,” you won’t get many clicks. In the world of digital promotion, clicks equal sales.

Let me explain this based on what I’ve learned in my class. The world is becoming more visually savvy. If you don’t believe me, take a look at your Facebook news feed. In class, professor Hallahan said that 86% of content that gets attention in the digital world is accompanied with some sort of image. 86%! That’s a lot! So, if you don’t have a visually appealing image, your book is not going to be noticed online or in the bookstore. Even if you have the best written book, no one will notice it if it looks cheap. This means that the thumbnail or picture accompanying your content will not work to create sales online. Any attempt to use a website, social media, digital advertising, or any other way to sell your book will fall short compared to what you could be doing with a well designed book.

